DIRECTOR – Amy Drinkwater




Click here (PDF link) for information

Selectboard Announces changes to South Thomaston Ambulance Service

On behalf of the Town, the Selectboard has entered into a contract with the St. George Volunteer Firefighters and Ambulance Association to provide management and support services to South Thomaston. This contract is effective January 1, 2018 for a term of one year. Under this agreement, Mrs. Amy Drinkwater, St. George’s Ambulance Service Director, will be responsible for the management and operational oversight of the South Thomaston Service, its volunteers and “per diem” employees. As with other town department heads, Amy will report directly to the South Thomaston Selectboard in this capacity. Additionally, the contract provides for St. George to offer advanced life support to South Thomaston at reasonable per call rates. Finally, as the St. George Service operates 7×24, its personnel will be available to South Thomaston if and when needed to augment the South Thomaston staff. This contract is the result of three months of effort by an Ambulance Service Futures Committee appointed by the Selectboard and chartered to review options for South Thomaston in light of the resignation of Director Dougherty and Assistant Director Norman. Pat Dougherty and Rich Norman served our town well and effectively for many years. They did so as true volunteers with little compensation. We owe them our thanks and appreciation for their dedication and service to the town and its citizens.

— Respectfully Submitted, South Thomaston Selectboard



TOWN FIRE WARDEN – Bryan T. Calderwood – Phone 596-6674
DEPUTY WARDEN – David Elwell – Phone 542-4797
DEPUTY WARDEN – Gerald Harjula – Phone (H) 354-8026 (C) 701-1860

The Fire Department is located at 125 Spruce Head Road (Route 73) about a half mile from the ‘Keag Store in the same building as the Town Office.

Our mailing address is:
South Thomaston Fire Department
P.O. Box 147
South Thomaston, ME 04858
[email protected]


Regular monthly drills of the department are held the 1st & 3rd Monday (unless Holiday)of the month starting at 6:30.

Chiefs/Safety/Training Committee meetings are the first Monday at 6:00 p.m.

Officers meetings are the third Monday at 6:00 p.m.



Burning permits can be obtained from the town Forest Warden or his Deputies.

Class 1,2,& 3 days no permits will be issued until after 5 p.m.

Class 4 & 5 days NO permits will be issued

Weekends & Holidays burn permits will not be issued until after 9 a.m.

Property Owners can get an online permit at a cost of $7.00 by going to

To get an online permit please visit:!/frontPage



Bryan T. CalderwoodFire Chief
David ElwellDeputy Chief
Gerald HarjulaAssistant Chief
Todd ButlerCaptain
Arthur HutchinsonCaptain
Jeff HarjulaCaptain
Arthur GriersonLieutenant
Alan KnowltonLieutenant
Travis WilsonLieutenant
Becky ButlerFirefighter
Arnold GodinFirefighter
Vanessa WintersFirefighter
Dan ManleyFirefighter
Larry FrenchFirefighter
Ed ColsonFirefighter
Dylan KnowltonFirefighter
Ralph DemmonsFirefighter
David BennerFirefighter
Emily HutchinsonFirefighter
Eli MacDougallProbationary


Our logo was designed in 1987 by Janet Page, the wife of a former member.  This logo was originally used on T-shirts. Later, it was put on the door panels on new apparatus purchased since it was accepted by the members.