TOWN FIRE WARDEN – Bryan T. Calderwood – Phone 975-7684
DEPUTY WARDEN – David Elwell – Phone 542-4797
DEPUTY WARDEN – Gerald Harjula – Phone (H) 354-8026 (C) 701-1860

The Fire Department is located at 125 Spruce Head Road (Route 73) about a half mile from the ‘Keag Store in the same building as the Town Office.

Our mailing address is:
South Thomaston Fire Department
P.O. Box 147
South Thomaston, ME 04858
[email protected]


Monthly truck equipment checks are conducted on the 1st Monday of each month starting @ 1800hrs (unless major holiday)

Chiefs/Safety/Training Committee meetings & Officer’s Meetings are the 2nd Monday of each month @ 1800hrs as needed, alternating monthly (unless major holiday)

Department Trainings are held on the 3rd Monday of each month @ 1800hrs. Trainings will also be held Saturdays or the 5th Monday of the month as needed. Training with other Departments in Knox County will be scheduled as needed.



Burning permits can be obtained from the Town Forest Warden or his Deputies.

Class 1 & 2 days: Permits will be issued

Class 3 days: Permits will be issued at the discretion of the Fire Wardens

Class 4 & 5 days: NO permits will be issued

Monday-Friday: Permits will be issued AFTER 5pm

Weekends: Permits will be issued AFTER 9am

Property Owners can obtain an burning permit online  by visiting: . An online permit allows for burning AFTER 5PM ONLY, regardless of what day of the week it is.


Free burning permits are valid for 1 day and can be obtained after 9am. All guidelines listed above must be followed.


Bryan T. Calderwood Fire Chief
David Elwell Deputy Chief
Gerald Harjula Assistant Chief
David BennerCaptain
Todd Butler Captain
Jeff Harjula Captain
Ralph DemmonsLieutenant
Arthur Grierson Lieutenant
Alan KnowltonLieutenant
Thomas MooreLieutenant
Alexis DavisFirefighter
Hannah FlachsbartFirefighter
Megen BennerFirefighter
Charlie WeidmanFirefighter
Connor Knowlton Firefighter
Connor CalderwoodProbationary Firefighter


Our logo was designed in 1987 by Janet Page, the wife of a former member.  This logo was originally used on T-shirts. Later, it was put on the door panels on new apparatus purchased since it was accepted by the members.